Driver

Yun Hiev

My name is Yun Hiev, I am 48 years old, and I was born in Kuk Srok village, Pouk commune, Pouk district, Siem Reap province. 

I have one child, I finished 7th grade with a family life as a poor bicycle repairman, so I decided to drop out of school and find a job to help support my family. 

In 1993, I went to work as a laborer on the Tonle Sap Lake for a small salary, and then stopped, and in 1994, I went to work as a pastry grinder in Banteay Meanchey province for another year, and then stopped.  

In 1995, I helped raise crocodiles for my uncle outside the province for 5 years, gaining a lot of experience. Last year the company sent to me China to work there. I worked the for 1 year and 2 months, the company sent me back to work in Siem Reap until 2010, then the company was closed. 

Then in 2011 I went to work in Thailand in a chicken factory for eight months, the work was very difficult and it was difficult for me to learn the language, so I decided to return to Cambodia to find a new job. Then I got a new job as a tuk-tuk driver to take tourists to visit the temple until 2013. Due to the lack of tourists, I decided to work for a garment factory in Phnom Penh as a mechanic until 2022, the factory was closed due to COVID-19. I then returned to my hometown in Siem Reap to find another job but I was unable to. 

At the beginning of 2023, I also got to know REACH through my brother-in-law, who was an English-speaking driver, advised me to apply for a job as a tuk-tuk driver, and I have been working here until today. Every day I help transport staff, students, and families according to the needs of REACH. I really enjoy working here because all the staff are very friendly and support each other. I’m also so happy to get to eat delicious food every day. 

Finally, I would like to say thanks to REACHfor giving me the opportunity to work here, and I promise to do my best to help the organization grow. Thank you. 

Meet More Of Our Team