Mien Doeurng

My name is Mien Doeung. I am 44 years old, and I was born in Outrach village, Chi Kreng district, Siem Reap province. I have 3 siblings, one brother and two sisters. I am the first child in my family. I have four children, 2 daughters and 2 sons. I attended school up from Grades1, 2, and 3, then stopped because I had to work on the farm and never returned school since.  

In 2010, I moved to live in town (Siem Reap). During that time, I worked at a photocopy shop as a cook for 1 year. After that, I had my own business, selling fruits – I didn’t earn much. My husband went to Phnom Penh to work as a construction worked while I stayed in Siem Reap with my 4 children and to try earn money as much as possible to support them.  

Before COVID, I went to work at a theatre, in front of the Baray Orndet cinema, as a cleaner for 1 year and a half. Then when COVID came, the theatre closed down and I didn’t have a job anymore. It made me feel down because I really needed a job in order to support my family but unfortunately, I lost my work. After losing my job, I ended up walking and picking up cans, plastics and rubbish to sell.  

One day, my friend told me that REACH was hiring cooking staff and I decided to apply CV. I never had experience working at NGO before, but I knew I would like to try and it would be very good for me if I can get the job. And finally, I got it and I’m very happy with this job because everything is great, environment, teamwork, especially, I help to cook food for the kids. 

Meet More Of Our Team